Burmese owners advice please!

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
MHarts
New Cat Chatter

Burmese owners advice please!

Post by MHarts »

Hello :)

I am new to burmese, but I have had a tonkinese before. He was the most loving cat, but he was an adult when he came to us so doesn’t help on the kitten front!

We bought a lovely blue Burmese girl home 4 weeks ago, and I’m just wondering if this is normal for burms (or kittens in general?) as the reason we chose this breed was because of their love of people, and I’m feeling a tad deflated at the moment. Please be gentle!

Burms are meant to be super cuddly but my girl isn’t that cuddly.. she will sort of sit with us and she loves being picked up but she’s not a lap cat. I am aware this could be to do with age! She is 5 months.

She meows all night and won’t settle, but she’s not like that during the day. The door is open for her but she doesn’t seem to sleep during the night. We play with her a lot and she gets a lot of stimulation throughout the day. I don’t want to shut her out but I haven’t slept in 4 weeks! She attacks our hands/feet that are under the covers, I think that is normal but she won’t stop no matter how many times we remove her from the bed. I am covered in scratches as she gets quite vicious when she’s in this mode.

Extra info, she’s not yet spayed and she has been to the vets a few times and there doesn’t seem to be a problem

Please tell me that this is normal and she will settle down! :)
Sniper1
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 18

Re: Burmese owners advice please!

Post by Sniper1 »