Cannibas Oil and Cats with Cancer

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
AndyMac
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 0

Cannibas Oil and Cats with Cancer

Post by AndyMac »

I read the following article today concerning a cat with a cancer growth on its paw. Its owner put 5 drops of cannibas oil in its food and the turmour shrunk:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/artic ... s-oil.html

My cat has been diagnosed with stomach cancer and was hoping to purchase cannibas oil tomorrow in Holland & Barrett to try and see if this would work or at least help my puss in some way.

Anyone else read or heard of using cannibas oil on pets ??
bobbys girl
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 5

Re: Cannibas Oil and Cats with Cancer

Post by bobbys girl »

I am no expert in the matter, but my OH uses cbd oil and finds it very useful for pain management (chronic back pain).

There is a lot of advice on t'interweb about it's use in cats - in the main very positive. I saw a documentary recently about the increase in cancer in cats and dogs (same reasons as us - bad diet, toxic environment) and cbd oil was mentioned, but I don't think it played a main role in treatment.

I doubt you vet would approve - like doctors, most go by what the drugs rep tells them and there is no money in cbd for big pharma.

I would not buy from Holland and Barrett their brand is diluted. Independent wholefood shops are carrying it now. Celtic Winds is the brand OH uses.

Do your research, there is plenty out there, and use your head.

All good wishes for you and your cat.
Lilith
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 1

Post by Lilith »

Hey Andy, very sorry to hear :(

I've heard of excellent results in humans. A friend buys theirs from here - http://www.simply-cbd.co.uk/shop/

Cheaper and stronger they say.

All the very best and hope you get some guidance around using it with a cat.
Lilith
VIP Cat Chatter!